Reviews

Review Us
 

  •   wow!! great company, absolute pleasure to work with.
    Simon is a really nice guy and really honest and his technicians are on time, polite, and quick.
    Will definitely be working with them in the future

    thumb Elazar M.
    6/13/2018

      HUS did our A/C optimization and did an excellent job. The work was completed rapidly and we are very happy with our new NEST thermostat. Thanks Simon and Julio.

    thumb Charles P.
    6/21/2018

      Simon, Leo and the team at Home Upgrade Specialist are absolutely amazing. Leo came and gave us a quote to replace our HVAC system last week and was able to show us exactly why our system wasn't cooling the house well and that we had no insulation in the attic. Our AC broke the same day and they were able to squeeze us in for the replacement 2 days later. The HVAC and insulation team were punctual, professional and friendly. The price was also very competitive and reasonable. They're also part of the LADWP home optimization program so we got a rebate and a free nest. Highly recommend this team!

    thumb Stephanie H.
    8/13/2018

      We bought a Nest, couldn't figure out how to install it ourselves, and then found out that LADWP would pay someone to install it for free (and replace our filter, check on how our AC was working, etc.).  Simon was great to work with - my wife and I both work a ton and have bizarre hours, and he was incredibly accommodating and flexible about finding a good time to do the job.  And the technician was also amazing: he worked efficiently, installed our Nest (after figuring out that the B and O wires were reversed), and left our AC in much better shape than he found it.  

    If you're considering paying someone to install your Nest, don't - just give Simon a call, and he will take care of you.

    thumb Alex S.
    6/16/2018

      I hardly ever leave reviews, but I simply had to this time! After seeing my family swelter through the July 4th heatwave, we decided we had to bite the bullet and install A/C in our two-story house. We got three bids, and Simon's was fastest, most professional and the lowest bid by far! Upon hearing how hard it was for the little ones to sleep in such hot weather, he was so concerned that he brought us a portable air conditioner for the baby's room to use until our project was completed. Despite some delays caused by having to install a new electrical sub-panel, Simon's crew worked long grueling days in the heat to expedite the job. Throughout, Simon kept checking in on us, and the work progress.  He was always available to answer questions, and a delight to work with. His workers were fast, friendly and efficient and they kept a clean work site. We love our new fresh, cool environment and marvel at how we ever endured the hot,sticky nights for so many years.  If only we'd known about Simon and his company sooner! Fortunately you, dear reader, can profit from our experience and confidently call Home Upgrade Specialist  to meet your HVAC needs. They really do deserve all the 5 star reviews they have received!

    thumb Margaret F.
    8/20/2018

      I set up an appointment over the phone with Simon for an A/C tune-up through the LA DWP A/C Optimization Program. Simon was very polite and helpful and told me exactly what they'd be doing when they serviced it. They contacted me the night before to confirm the day and time and Julio showed up right on time. He was pleasant, professional, very knowledgeable and did a great job with servicing our A/C and heater. He installed a new thermostat and did an excellent job. He was quick and left no mess.  I would definitely recommend this company for anyone looking for someone to service their A/C or heater.

    thumb Erin R.
    5/16/2018
  •   Leor and the company did a wonderful job installing air conditioning. We were referred to them by our neighbor and Leor came right out to evaluate our situation. He spent a long time checking out our equipment and explained in detail what he could do at the best price. There was no hard sell. That weekend his workers showed up and in just a few hours it was done!. He even came back to make sure it was working properly. I can't recommend this company highly enough.  Now we can invite friends over!

    thumb Hettie H.
    8/19/2018

      Found Home Upgrade Specialist through the LADWP AC Optimization program, and based on the reviews here, decided to give them a try. Simon was very helpful and accommodating on the phone. Scheduling was a breeze.

    On the appointment day, we had Julio visit to do the work. He could not have been nicer, friendlier, and helpful in explaining the work he was doing. Everything made sense, and he answered all my questions, making it easy to understand the improvements.

    And later that day, Simon called to ask if we were satisfied with the work. I would absolutely recommend them!

    thumb John M.
    5/04/2018

      Simon was a pleasure to work with and his technicians were on time and very professional, the job was completed right away. My entire office is extremely happy with the level of professionalism and friendliness. Thanks to the job getting done we are not burning up anymore. We are so glad that we got our ACs maintenance and my thermostats replaced

    Thank YOU so much!!!
    UBX/ EZ Worldwide Express (Vernon)

    thumb Sandra B.
    6/07/2018

      I found Home Upgrade Specialist on the list provided by the LADWP AC Optimization program. A list??? Who knows where to start! But I did - checking reviews on Yelp. Home Upgrade Specialist had the best reviews - as well as a great location.

    I spoke with Simon to set up the appointment - easy. Plus, we were able to set it up for just a couple of days later. That morning, Julio called to let me know his arrival time. And he was great - friendly, knowledgeable, polite - just great. He shared all the info on what he was doing and why so that I knew exactly what was going on.

    Simon also came by as Julio was finishing and did a second inspection. He also was friendly, polite and knowledgeable.

    I definitely recommend these guys!

    thumb jax m.
    5/10/2018

      I had greg come over to diagnose a roof mount unit that isn't cooling. After scheduling 6 companies they are the only ones that came out within a reasonable time frame giving that they are very busy at this current heat stroke.
    I am a contractor with my own business but that trade I do not perform but I know enough about the system to make sure if the module or compressor are intact.
    Greg Is By far the most honest rep' I've met and seems on point without any unnecessary upselling.
    Just a great person to deal with.
    Simon the owner was a great to deal with and  
    I would highly recommend this company and ask to deal with greg.

    Keep up the great work.

    Cheers  

    Omer

    thumb O B.
    7/24/2018

      Our second person sent out saved the day! I was originally going to write a one-star Yelp review with our initial experience with the two people that were sent out to take a look at our Nest and AC unit. Upon arrival they thought we were bozos as the AC happened to turn on (after being off for a few days) which is, of course, this would happen when were trying to fix it not blowing out cold air. But then it turned off a couple hours later - still, the first two people they sent out were not helpful at all. It wasn't until Greg who came in and took a look at EVERYTHING from up on the roof to inside the attic units. He gave us all of the information and answered our many questions and was all around so helpful! We give him 10 stars out of 5 because he was that awesome and knowledgeable, he explained everything to us and was so patient and ended up diagnosing our issue with a fair quote and all! He rocked! We hope he returns if we ever have an issue again.

    thumb Kitty G.
    7/25/2018
  •   Simon is the man! I received estimates from four other companies to replace my A/C, and Simon was the best price by far. On top of that, he threw in a free Nest and covered the permits for $100 (most of the other places like to charge around $750-800 for those). I called Simon and he showed up the next day-- he was efficient, knowledgeable and just an all around nice guy. He had his team at my place in under a week, and they did a bang-up job. Not only will I be using Home Upgrade Specialist for all of my home projects in the future, but I've been referring them to everyone in my building! Give Simon a call. You'll be glad you did.

    thumb K. W.
    5/25/2018

      I contacted Simon for the LADWP AC optimization program.  10 days after our first conversation, Simon scheduled Julio to come and install our free Nest and complete an AC tune up.  Julio is really sharp, he installed our Nest and figured out our fuse problem right away. I purchased the new fuses, he installed and... voila, we were up and running after 2 hours.

    thumb Granaz M.
    6/12/2018

      I just moved to LA from Boston and was looking for some upgrade in my new apartment and the service was unbelievable - so good! Arrived on time, were efficient and the job was well done!
    Keep on the great work!

    thumb Oz R.
    7/09/2018

      It's never pleasant when a big appliance goes bad and you know it needs to be replaced. So dealing with a company that understands this, sympathizes and "gets" where you're coming from helps alleviate the stress from it.  I have to say, aside from the stress and expense of getting a new A/C unit, this has been one of the more pleasant experiences I've had with such a big ticket item. I'm one who always thinks someone is out to get you. Will charge you too much and, let's face it, how many people know that much about air conditioning? But such is not the case with Home Upgrade Specialist. Honest, reasonable and they took great care to get the job done and in a timely manner. Seeing as my a/c was on the roof, they had to use a crane which was a spectacle in itself, but the time it took to install (6 hours) gave me new found respect for the intricacy of the workmanship and made me feel the money was well spent. Not an easy task.

    Simon, the owner, came over and made sure all was going properly while Wilson installed the unit. Simon is so down-to-earth. When he first came over to give me an estimate, I told him the heat was working but the a/c was not blowing cold air, and that I had had a few estimates already.  He asked to see the invoice and was prepared to come very close to the lowest one with a better A/C unit. Also, I found out from him and the second company that came to give me an estimate that the first company that came out unplugged everything so my heat wasn't working now! The fan would go on before but now nothing. Simon went up to try and rectify it so if I needed heat, I could have it till I decided what I wanted to do about the unit (and it was chilly at night then). However, whatever that first company did, they did not put it back to what it was and now nothing worked! Simon confirmed what the second company said.

    Also, I asked Simon about permits as the first company didn't say anything until I questioned it - and their retort was that it will be an additional 945 dollars but he would give me a discount. Simon emphatically stated, "no" that he only charges whatever the cost is from the city - yes it's extra but not $945 even if there was a discount! He thought it was around a hundred bucks! Big difference from 945!  Then to show me exactly what it would be so I would know, he sat down and took me on the city website where I promptly paid with my credit card to pull the permit - and it was only 143 dollars and some cents!  

    I can't thank Simon enough for making this less painful that it already was - no one wants to spend thousands and thousands of dollars for something like this but it's a necessary evil - we need heat and a/c in Los Angeles.  But if I have to spend it, I'm glad I chose Home Upgrade Specialists. Now I will call them first for all my renovation needs as they do everything! And they are one of the preferred vendors of the DWP which will help expedite any rebates for energy saving appliances, etc.

    Highly recommend them!

    thumb Rona E.
    4/30/2018

      Really fabulous company to work with. I got referred to the company though LADWP and am so happy I chose their number! Simon was friendly and knowledgeable on the phone, they were great to schedule with and the tech was fast and really knew what he was doing. I'm going to have them bid on another job in the house right away.

    thumb Tali M.
    6/08/2018

      Best decision ever to call this company. They came out super quick and the tech (Julio) was amazing. The owner came over to discuss optimization of our HVAC and tell us about dwp rebates and other programs. They even installed a free NEST thermostat -which I love! I would recommend them because I believe they are trustworthy, informative and highly efficient (pun intended). Thanks Julio and simon.

    thumb Pebbles L.
    5/02/2018
  •   I highly want to recommend professional air conditioning installation. I am very pleased with the services. Very friendly staff. Marvelous results. I can honestly say, I am satisfyingly enjoying. Many thanks to this awesome business!

    thumb David S.
    4/22/2018

      Simon and his team at Home Upgrade Specialist are superb! They came out to do a professional install of a Nest system.  The technician was on time, efficient, explained the system well and overall just did a great job.  I'm looking forward to calling upon them the next time I have a home upgrade project.

    thumb Rob A.
    5/11/2018

      We selected Home Upgrade Specialist for the LADWP sponsored AC optimization program. The technician was prompt, efficient, well-mannered, and knowledgeable. You could tell he enjoyed his work.

    The service was extremely rigorous and consisted of checking the complete functioning of our HVAC, including ductwork. We also received the latest generation Nest thermostat. The technician was incredibly polite and helpful. He answered my question about evaporative coolers with a high level of expertise. This helped steer me away from a potentially costly and ineffective retrofit. I also like the fact that this company offers the full spectrum of home energy solutions.

    I cannot overstate the value of this service to homeowners who want to save money on heating and cooling bills.

    thumb James P.
    5/10/2018

      We did the A/C upgrade program through the LADWP and it was very easy to set up with HUS. They had availability within the next day of calling to set up the appointment. They gave me a 2 hour window of time for the technician to show up. The technician that came out was really nice and worked quickly to have everything done within a reasonable time. Instillation only took less than 2 hours. He showed me how to use the new Nest system which is really cool! Overall a simple and easy experience. I would recommend this company to anyone and use them in the future if I have needs for any of their services.

    thumb Jacky W.
    4/25/2018

      Simon and Nitai both showed up to give me a quote for a Roof and windows. I have had a few quotes already and was honestly ready to throw them out before they came. After barely a minute, their courtesy. Professionalism and fairness began to shine and all the bad experiences I had with previous contractors was soon forgotten. The work which I contracted was clean, efficient, and their followup made me feel even more secure. My faith in the Remodeling industry has been restored. Don't bother with anyone else.

    thumb Micky M.
    8/02/2018

      SIMON was very quick getting back to me regarding the DWP installation. Julio installed two Nest thermostats and was very knowledgeable and thorough. He cleaned the units and replaced the filters. He also showed me how to use the Nest. LA residents need to check out this great DWP program which is free.

    thumb Tony J.
    6/14/2018

Review Us

Inquire Services
close slider