Reviews

Review Us
 

  •   Found Home Upgrade Specialist through the LADWP AC Optimization program, and based on the reviews here, decided to give them a try. Simon was very helpful and accommodating on the phone. Scheduling was a breeze.

    On the appointment day, we had Julio visit to do the work. He could not have been nicer, friendlier, and helpful in explaining the work he was doing. Everything made sense, and he answered all my questions, making it easy to understand the improvements.

    And later that day, Simon called to ask if we were satisfied with the work. I would absolutely recommend them!

    thumb John M.
    5/04/2018

      I was referred to Home Upgrade Specialist through the LADWP AC Optimization Program.  Simon and his team came out to review my HVAC system, condenser unit, insulation, filter, and thermostat.  They replaced the filter and thermostat at no charge.  I got a new Nest thermostat for free as part of the Optimization Program.  I even got qualified for the $1,200 rebate being offered by LADWP.  Simon and his team were very professional, clean, and explained everything throughout the process.  I recommend them for the LADWP AC Optimization program and for any HVAC System repairs that you may require in the future.

    thumb Chris R.
    2/27/2018

      Best decision ever to call this company. They came out super quick and the tech (Julio) was amazing. The owner came over to discuss optimization of our HVAC and tell us about dwp rebates and other programs. They even installed a free NEST thermostat -which I love! I would recommend them because I believe they are trustworthy, informative and highly efficient (pun intended). Thanks Julio and simon.

    thumb Pebbles L.
    5/02/2018

      Simon and Julio came to our house to inspect our A/C unit and duct system, as well as install a Nest thermostat. Julio arrived right on time and charmed our 2 year old daughter with his kindness. She loved watching him work and he was gracious about her standing close by to watch. He was very knowledgeable and friendly; he even noted that we should make sure we have working Carbon monoxide monitors installed since our duct work turned out to be a hack job.

    Simon came later in the appointment and double checked everything. It was a pleasure to chat with him and we trusted him completely. Our A/C unit, and duct work, need some updating. At this time we're going to hold off on replacing them but Simon gave us an offer that was far more reasonable than any offer we'd had by other companies. It didn't feel like he was trying to make a buck off us. If/when we do get our A/C unit done we'll be contacting him for sure!

    thumb Rachel M.
    4/25/2018

      I was referred from a friend who had some windows installed.  I liked the quality of their job.  I had called them to quote a bay window install for my guest house.  Nitai came on time and provided a great bid (he was also the one who answered the initial call).  We scheduled the work and the crew of 3 came on time and finished on time (I've had bad experiences in the past).  They cleaned up and left no mess too! Everything we discussed before work was done and it felt like they gave a damn.  I am very happy with Nitai and his crew.  Good guys and professional.  I would recommend giving them a try, it was a pleasure as the customer for my bay window job.  A great gem of a business!

    thumb Jeff H.
    1/11/2018

      We hired Home Upgrade Specialist to come by our gym to check out issues we were having with one of our HVAC units.  We had been told by another company that the issue was being caused by brand new Nests that we had installed, but knew that was not the real issue.  Julio and Julio came by to take a look and had our HVAC up and running properly in what seemed like minutes.  It turned out to be a wiring issue.  I highly recommend them.  The price was great as well!  When I made the appointment I spoke with Simon.  He was so kind and scheduled us right away.  He also offered to perform an AC optimization at no cost to us.  We will be using Home Upgrade Specialists for all our future needs.

    thumb Rebecca F.
    5/18/2018
  •   We have a lovely, functional, updated bathroom now which is actually a relaxing sanctuary. Amazing, because the old bathroom was constantly leaking, depressing to spend time in, and the cost in plumbing repairs, alone, was awful.  
    Enter Home Upgrade Specialists, Simon was my contact, and now just a month later, I feel so much happier.  Lol, it's crazy how just a few subtle, well-thought out changes and upgrades can equate to such a tangible difference in how one views one's home.
    The price and timeline were exactly as I was quoted and the guys who did the work were pleasant and kept the mess to a minimum as they progressed.  (Something I was stressing over!)
    I am now going to have Simon redo my kitchen and get it on par with the upgraded bath!  Thank-you Simon:)

    thumb Tamela H.
    4/04/2018

      Professional and honest company! Did my home remodeling with these guys and the results were really great. Paint job and HVAC upgrades together with great incentives from different programs and my house looks great and feels very comfortable.   Highly recommend!

    thumb Lee W.
    4/24/2018

      Amazing upgrade, wouldn't go to anyone else.

    Simon came to my family house and they upgrade HVAC system and it looks and works amazing. The service was top notch. I will refer them to my family and friends. I love my new NEST.

    Looks dope.

    thumb Jonathan A.
    5/02/2018

      Nitay in to the house with his team and did exactly what was promised
    Great and clean job

    thumb E B.
    2/06/2018

      We selected Home Upgrade Specialist for the LADWP sponsored AC optimization program. The technician was prompt, efficient, well-mannered, and knowledgeable. You could tell he enjoyed his work.

    The service was extremely rigorous and consisted of checking the complete functioning of our HVAC, including ductwork. We also received the latest generation Nest thermostat. The technician was incredibly polite and helpful. He answered my question about evaporative coolers with a high level of expertise. This helped steer me away from a potentially costly and ineffective retrofit. I also like the fact that this company offers the full spectrum of home energy solutions.

    I cannot overstate the value of this service to homeowners who want to save money on heating and cooling bills.

    thumb James P.
    5/10/2018

      Simon and his team at Home Upgrade Specialist are superb! They came out to do a professional install of a Nest system.  The technician was on time, efficient, explained the system well and overall just did a great job.  I'm looking forward to calling upon them the next time I have a home upgrade project.

    thumb Rob A.
    5/11/2018
  •   Great service, they change  my AC unit.
    working great professional work, always on time great service.! Second time I'm using that company highly recommend.!

    thumb Mikhael M.
    3/14/2018

      This is what pro looks like. Great communication from Simon.  They called me back immediately, set up an appointment and where ready to get the work done. Very helpful! I will use them again and again.

    thumb Paul H.
    5/07/2018

      Couldn't have been happier.  I needed to replace an old ductless air conditioning system.  I got bids from several companies but Simon, the owner, at Home Upgrade Specialist not only gave me the lowest bid, but he gave me confidence that he'd do a great job - and he did.  The install, which required taking out the old unit and retrofitting the new system, went quickly and smoothly.  His workers were professional and thorough and knew what they were doing.  And he didn't charge me until I was totally happy with the work - which I was.  

    Apparently his company does many other things and I'm planning to contact them again for my next job.

    thumb Allan K.
    3/13/2018

      These guys are great! Contacted them to run the ac optimization program and they could not have been easier to work with. Super knowledgeable and worked with me through the whole process (my situation had some complications). Interested now in their Kitchen renovation offering and will be contacting them soon about that. Shout out to Julio and Simon, thanks guys!!

    thumb Agustin M.
    5/24/2018

      I couldn't be happier with the service. I needed to get new insulation in the attic of my house, and I'm weary of chemical products, so when I found a company that could provide chemical free insulation, I was psyched. My excitement soon diminished due to the fact that I knew I was going to have use contractors to do this. We all know how this goes, you call a contractor, they never finish on time, try and find ways to overcharge and so on and so forth. But these guys broke that mold. On time, finished EARLY, super easy to work with, didn't overcharge me; it was the exact opposite of any encounter I've ever had with a contractor. I'd definitely use these guys for any work going forward and recommend to family and friends.

    thumb David H.
    11/28/2017

      I set up an appointment over the phone with Simon for an A/C tune-up through the LA DWP A/C Optimization Program. Simon was very polite and helpful and told me exactly what they'd be doing when they serviced it. They contacted me the night before to confirm the day and time and Julio showed up right on time. He was pleasant, professional, very knowledgeable and did a great job with servicing our A/C and heater. He installed a new thermostat and did an excellent job. He was quick and left no mess.  I would definitely recommend this company for anyone looking for someone to service their A/C or heater.

    thumb Erin R.
    5/16/2018
  •   I contacted Home Upgrade Specialist through the list of LADWP AC Optimization Program.  Simon responded right away to my initial contact, scheduled me in as soon as possible and performed AC unit tune-up and new thermostat installation. Julio, the technician, was very courteous and honest about my unit's condition was, and for every action he was conducting, he gave me explanation as best as he could (because I did not understand some technical stuff). The filter replacement was done as a part of the great service.  Somehow, my thermostat unit was acting weird, but Julio took his time to make sure everything was in a good working condition, even in his packed schedule. Simon and Julio were very friendly, honest, and professional.  I recommend Home Upgrade Specialist for the LADWP program, and I will certainly get its service again for other HVAC-related projects.

    thumb Connie Y.
    3/01/2018

      I found Home Upgrade Specialist on the list provided by the LADWP AC Optimization program. A list??? Who knows where to start! But I did - checking reviews on Yelp. Home Upgrade Specialist had the best reviews - as well as a great location.

    I spoke with Simon to set up the appointment - easy. Plus, we were able to set it up for just a couple of days later. That morning, Julio called to let me know his arrival time. And he was great - friendly, knowledgeable, polite - just great. He shared all the info on what he was doing and why so that I knew exactly what was going on.

    Simon also came by as Julio was finishing and did a second inspection. He also was friendly, polite and knowledgeable.

    I definitely recommend these guys!

    thumb jax m.
    5/10/2018

      They came over to do roofing on the whole house and garage. The roofing looks great,  stable,  and it's extremely neat. They are professional and works productively. They are friendly and they have done the best roofing job done in years. Thank you home upgrade roofing so much.

    thumb Kai W.
    1/05/2018

      Really needed to replace existing a/c system and contacted a couple different specialists to get their opinions.  Simon came out and seemed very low key and not at all someone to pressure you!  He proceeded to carefully examine (and listen!) the entire duct and intake system as well as the main unit on the roof.  At that point he made a couple of calls and then presented me with an estimate and time frame that was better than I hoped.  Done deal.
    His workers showed up within a week and we now have a much more efficient, money-saving system and a new NEST controller 🙂
    Yay!

    thumb Madison J.
    4/04/2018

      I was referred to this company by a friend of mine, and now I will be one referring this company! Nitai the owner is super professional and kind. He came to my home with his crew and got straight to work, after we discussed all the details. They got the job finished in no time and did a fantastic job.

    thumb Liana D.
    12/05/2017

      Had these guys install a Next through LADWP. They got back to me quickly, showed up on time and were professional throughout installation. Recommend them for all future upgrades.

    thumb Robert R.
    2/11/2018

Review Us

Inquire Services