Reviews

Review Us
 

  •   The reviews are true!  This is really a 5-star company.

    I was in desperate need to replace my central air unit in my condo... which was built in the late 70s.  On such a big ticket item, I was very hesitant in selecting contractors - would they do it right?, clean up their mess?, etc.  I've had terrible experiences with contractors that have left a very bitter and hesitant taste in my mouth, but Home Upgrade Specialist was one that left me at ease.  

    From the get-go, Simon was extremely polite and responsive to my online request.  We set up a free estimate and he knew exactly what I had and was dealing with - and gave me a reasonable and super competitive price.  Let's just say I've had ~15 contractors come bid on this project and HUS was the one that made the cut.

    Simon moves quick - I sent over the signed agreement and deposit, and we were able to schedule work.  My only complaint here was that a 3% fee is applied if you paid with credit card... wish that was mentioned somewhere on the agreement.  Nonetheless, it took less than 2 weeks from initial visit to project completion (it would've taken 1 week or less, but I took awhile to get back to him).  He worked with my schedule and made this upgrade as pain-free as possible... he even came out to personally make sure the job was going as expected and that there were no issues.  During the installation process, the crew broke one of my lights.  Simon quickly went out and bought a replacement for it (I've actually had contractors damage other things in my house and deny it was their fault).

    To be honest, I'm impressed that they were able to replace my unit.  It was a pancake-style air handler mounted in the ceiling with limited space to move.  It did take an extra day than quoted to get the job done because of complications, but still happy with the end result.  I finally have cool air for the summer!

    Highly recommend HUS and especially Simon.  Will be contacting him again in the future for home renovations.

    thumb Stephen K.
    6/05/2018

      We hired Home Upgrade Specialist to come by our gym to check out issues we were having with one of our HVAC units.  We had been told by another company that the issue was being caused by brand new Nests that we had installed, but knew that was not the real issue.  Julio and Julio came by to take a look and had our HVAC up and running properly in what seemed like minutes.  It turned out to be a wiring issue.  I highly recommend them.  The price was great as well!  When I made the appointment I spoke with Simon.  He was so kind and scheduled us right away.  He also offered to perform an AC optimization at no cost to us.  We will be using Home Upgrade Specialists for all our future needs.

    thumb Rebecca F.
    5/18/2018

      Amazing upgrade, wouldn't go to anyone else.

    Simon came to my family house and they upgrade HVAC system and it looks and works amazing. The service was top notch. I will refer them to my family and friends. I love my new NEST.

    Looks dope.

    thumb Jonathan A.
    5/02/2018

      I highly want to recommend professional air conditioning installation. I am very pleased with the services. Very friendly staff. Marvelous results. I can honestly say, I am satisfyingly enjoying. Many thanks to this awesome business!

    thumb David S.
    4/22/2018

      I set up an appointment over the phone with Simon for an A/C tune-up through the LA DWP A/C Optimization Program. Simon was very polite and helpful and told me exactly what they'd be doing when they serviced it. They contacted me the night before to confirm the day and time and Julio showed up right on time. He was pleasant, professional, very knowledgeable and did a great job with servicing our A/C and heater. He installed a new thermostat and did an excellent job. He was quick and left no mess.  I would definitely recommend this company for anyone looking for someone to service their A/C or heater.

    thumb Erin R.
    5/16/2018

      A reputable company. My A/C was leaking gallons of water. I didn't know what to expect.  Greg came over, assessed the situation and fixed the problem.  Thanx bro!

    thumb Russs M.
    8/09/2018
  •   I contacted Simon for the LADWP AC optimization program.  10 days after our first conversation, Simon scheduled Julio to come and install our free Nest and complete an AC tune up.  Julio is really sharp, he installed our Nest and figured out our fuse problem right away. I purchased the new fuses, he installed and... voila, we were up and running after 2 hours.

    thumb Granaz M.
    6/12/2018

      Simon and his team at Home Upgrade Specialist are superb! They came out to do a professional install of a Nest system.  The technician was on time, efficient, explained the system well and overall just did a great job.  I'm looking forward to calling upon them the next time I have a home upgrade project.

    thumb Rob A.
    5/11/2018

      We did the A/C upgrade program through the LADWP and it was very easy to set up with HUS. They had availability within the next day of calling to set up the appointment. They gave me a 2 hour window of time for the technician to show up. The technician that came out was really nice and worked quickly to have everything done within a reasonable time. Instillation only took less than 2 hours. He showed me how to use the new Nest system which is really cool! Overall a simple and easy experience. I would recommend this company to anyone and use them in the future if I have needs for any of their services.

    thumb Jacky W.
    4/25/2018

      Simon went the extra mile to provide a solution for an hvac problem we were experiencing-

    he managed to find a technician late on a Friday afternoon who arrived on time, analyzed the situation & repaired the problem quickly -

    Simon called to verify that all was ok, followed by a very reasonable bill for all the effort provided -

    We highly recommend Simon & his company -

    thumb Paul W.
    5/18/2018

      The owner Simon will follow up and try to accommodate in order to make his customers happy.

    thumb J W.
    8/15/2018

      I had greg come over to diagnose a roof mount unit that isn't cooling. After scheduling 6 companies they are the only ones that came out within a reasonable time frame giving that they are very busy at this current heat stroke.
    I am a contractor with my own business but that trade I do not perform but I know enough about the system to make sure if the module or compressor are intact.
    Greg Is By far the most honest rep' I've met and seems on point without any unnecessary upselling.
    Just a great person to deal with.
    Simon the owner was a great to deal with and  
    I would highly recommend this company and ask to deal with greg.

    Keep up the great work.

    Cheers  

    Omer

    thumb O B.
    7/24/2018
  •   I was in need of updating and fixing up my home. Everywhere was looking to bill me super high, but here they worked with me. I'm very satisfied with their services and their promptness. Everything went smooth and would definitely recommend to anyone who is looking to get any fixed up in their home. I was struggling a lot with finding the perfect fit for me and I came along this company and am glad I did. They are great. Keep up the good work.

    thumb Jackie G.
    8/21/2018

      Simon and Nitai both showed up to give me a quote for a Roof and windows. I have had a few quotes already and was honestly ready to throw them out before they came. After barely a minute, their courtesy. Professionalism and fairness began to shine and all the bad experiences I had with previous contractors was soon forgotten. The work which I contracted was clean, efficient, and their followup made me feel even more secure. My faith in the Remodeling industry has been restored. Don't bother with anyone else.

    thumb Micky M.
    8/02/2018

      What a great and professional company! I called Simon at Home Upgrade Specialist for an estimate for my heating and air systrm replacement. Simon was by far the most honest, professional and nicest person i interviewed.
    I end up doing the replacement with them and everything was very smooth and up to the schedule Simon provided me. Also they installed a nest thermostat with no additional cost! After the great delivery Nitai came to inspect my system and also came to provide me with some information for my windows and exterior paint. I learn a lot about those products and decided to go ahead and upgrade both!
    We replaced 16 windows and 2 sliding door and they apply cool wall material on my exterior house. The house look gorgeous! Thank you Simon and Nitai! I highly recommend Home Upgrade Specialist to all of my friendsand family!

    thumb Dani O.
    6/12/2018

      Our second person sent out saved the day! I was originally going to write a one-star Yelp review with our initial experience with the two people that were sent out to take a look at our Nest and AC unit. Upon arrival they thought we were bozos as the AC happened to turn on (after being off for a few days) which is, of course, this would happen when were trying to fix it not blowing out cold air. But then it turned off a couple hours later - still, the first two people they sent out were not helpful at all. It wasn't until Greg who came in and took a look at EVERYTHING from up on the roof to inside the attic units. He gave us all of the information and answered our many questions and was all around so helpful! We give him 10 stars out of 5 because he was that awesome and knowledgeable, he explained everything to us and was so patient and ended up diagnosing our issue with a fair quote and all! He rocked! We hope he returns if we ever have an issue again.

    thumb Kitty G.
    7/25/2018

      I found Home Upgrade Specialist on the list provided by the LADWP AC Optimization program. A list??? Who knows where to start! But I did - checking reviews on Yelp. Home Upgrade Specialist had the best reviews - as well as a great location.

    I spoke with Simon to set up the appointment - easy. Plus, we were able to set it up for just a couple of days later. That morning, Julio called to let me know his arrival time. And he was great - friendly, knowledgeable, polite - just great. He shared all the info on what he was doing and why so that I knew exactly what was going on.

    Simon also came by as Julio was finishing and did a second inspection. He also was friendly, polite and knowledgeable.

    I definitely recommend these guys!

    thumb jax m.
    5/10/2018

      Great service. Highly recommended. Simon and Nitai came to my house and replaced my ac unit   They very nice and professional and the installation was quick and  smooth.   They delivered as promised. They installed a nest thermostat which I love.  Because of the superior service, I have decided to move forward with the energy efficient window replacements with them. Cudos. Five stars!

    thumb Julia C.
    6/04/2018
  •   We bought a Nest, couldn't figure out how to install it ourselves, and then found out that LADWP would pay someone to install it for free (and replace our filter, check on how our AC was working, etc.).  Simon was great to work with - my wife and I both work a ton and have bizarre hours, and he was incredibly accommodating and flexible about finding a good time to do the job.  And the technician was also amazing: he worked efficiently, installed our Nest (after figuring out that the B and O wires were reversed), and left our AC in much better shape than he found it.  

    If you're considering paying someone to install your Nest, don't - just give Simon a call, and he will take care of you.

    thumb Alex S.
    6/16/2018

      It's never pleasant when a big appliance goes bad and you know it needs to be replaced. So dealing with a company that understands this, sympathizes and "gets" where you're coming from helps alleviate the stress from it.  I have to say, aside from the stress and expense of getting a new A/C unit, this has been one of the more pleasant experiences I've had with such a big ticket item. I'm one who always thinks someone is out to get you. Will charge you too much and, let's face it, how many people know that much about air conditioning? But such is not the case with Home Upgrade Specialist. Honest, reasonable and they took great care to get the job done and in a timely manner. Seeing as my a/c was on the roof, they had to use a crane which was a spectacle in itself, but the time it took to install (6 hours) gave me new found respect for the intricacy of the workmanship and made me feel the money was well spent. Not an easy task.

    Simon, the owner, came over and made sure all was going properly while Wilson installed the unit. Simon is so down-to-earth. When he first came over to give me an estimate, I told him the heat was working but the a/c was not blowing cold air, and that I had had a few estimates already.  He asked to see the invoice and was prepared to come very close to the lowest one with a better A/C unit. Also, I found out from him and the second company that came to give me an estimate that the first company that came out unplugged everything so my heat wasn't working now! The fan would go on before but now nothing. Simon went up to try and rectify it so if I needed heat, I could have it till I decided what I wanted to do about the unit (and it was chilly at night then). However, whatever that first company did, they did not put it back to what it was and now nothing worked! Simon confirmed what the second company said.

    Also, I asked Simon about permits as the first company didn't say anything until I questioned it - and their retort was that it will be an additional 945 dollars but he would give me a discount. Simon emphatically stated, "no" that he only charges whatever the cost is from the city - yes it's extra but not $945 even if there was a discount! He thought it was around a hundred bucks! Big difference from 945!  Then to show me exactly what it would be so I would know, he sat down and took me on the city website where I promptly paid with my credit card to pull the permit - and it was only 143 dollars and some cents!  

    I can't thank Simon enough for making this less painful that it already was - no one wants to spend thousands and thousands of dollars for something like this but it's a necessary evil - we need heat and a/c in Los Angeles.  But if I have to spend it, I'm glad I chose Home Upgrade Specialists. Now I will call them first for all my renovation needs as they do everything! And they are one of the preferred vendors of the DWP which will help expedite any rebates for energy saving appliances, etc.

    Highly recommend them!

    thumb Rona E.
    4/30/2018

      I found Home Upgrade Specialist through the DWP  AC Optimization Program, which offers a no-cost central air conditioner tune-up and a free NEST installation.  
    Julio came to my home and did a great job, providing me with a lot of information and advice.  Then Simon came over to see the work.  I will also have them do the other side of my duplex in a few days.  
    Very professional and honest.  I look forward to working with them in the future.  Will also tell all of my neighbors - who may not know about this.
    I had called another company on the DWP list, and they said they would have to charge me $80 for the Nest installation because mine was so old.  I knew something was wrong, and hung up.  
    So glad Simon was on the list to call.

    thumb Joan F.
    5/16/2018

      We selected Home Upgrade Specialist for the LADWP sponsored AC optimization program. The technician was prompt, efficient, well-mannered, and knowledgeable. You could tell he enjoyed his work.

    The service was extremely rigorous and consisted of checking the complete functioning of our HVAC, including ductwork. We also received the latest generation Nest thermostat. The technician was incredibly polite and helpful. He answered my question about evaporative coolers with a high level of expertise. This helped steer me away from a potentially costly and ineffective retrofit. I also like the fact that this company offers the full spectrum of home energy solutions.

    I cannot overstate the value of this service to homeowners who want to save money on heating and cooling bills.

    thumb James P.
    5/10/2018

      I just moved to LA from Boston and was looking for some upgrade in my new apartment and the service was unbelievable - so good! Arrived on time, were efficient and the job was well done!
    Keep on the great work!

    thumb Oz R.
    7/09/2018

      Very quick, very precise.  get there on time, didn't left any junk behind. Everything is working fine so great job thank you guys

    thumb Sergey R.
    5/10/2018

Review Us

From 21 reviews
tom roberts

the best HVAC company in the state!

Great price!

Amazing customer service!!!

i highly recommend calling them

Response from business owner

Dear Tom,

Thank you so much for giving us a 5 Star Google rating & sharing your experience! We really appreciate it.

please let us know if we can help with any other home upgrading needs.

Customer Service Team

Home Upgrade Specialist

via Google
Yossie Ziff

Punctual

Professional

Reasonable

Response from business owner

Dear Yossie,

Thank you so much for for giving us a 5 Star Google rating & sharing your experience, We really appreciate it.

Please let us know if we can help with any other Home Upgrading needs.

Customer Service

Home Upgrade Specialist

via Google
Steve Scarantino

Was able to get a next day appointment for an AC optimization tune up and the techs called a half hour before arriving to let me know they were on the way. The were polite and friendly and got the job done with no issue.

Response from business owner

Dear Steve,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience, We really appreciate it.

It was our pleasure being able to assist you!

Please let us know if we can help with any other Home Upgrading needs.

Customer Service

Home Upgrade Specialist

via Google
James Brady

I contacted Home Upgrade Specialist through the list of LADWP AC Optimization Program. Simon responded right away, scheduled me in as soon as possible and performed AC unit tune-up and new thermostat installation. Art, the technician, was …

read more
Response from business owner

Dear James,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience! We really appreciate it.

It was our pleasure being able to assist you, please let us know if we can help with any other home upgrading needs.

Customer Service Team

Home Upgrade Specialist

via Google
Dan David

My experience with the people from „Home Upgrade Specialists” was fantastic. Greg worked hard and optimized my AC system in a way I am happy. More control and a smoother run; my wife is delighted, as my self.

via Facebook
Steve Yerkes

Thank to Simon he did a great job for our tenant house with an installation of a mini split system.

Response from business owner

Dear Steve,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience, We really appreciate it.

It was our pleasure being able to assist you!

via Google
Chelsea Nicole

This company is amazing! They were easy to get in contact with. Super friendly contractors who made sure I received the best quality equipment and service. They even worked with me on pricing. Very satisfied with them!

Response from business owner

Dear Chelsea,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience, We really appreciate it.

It was our pleasure being able to assist you!

Please let us know if we can help with any other Home Upgrading needs.

Customer Service

Home Upgrade Specialist

via Google
Sahar Arianpanah

Great team! Professional, reliable and with fir price. Love working with them upgrading my HVAC system and replacing my 26 windows. Simon and Nitai were super nice and guide me on each step of the working process. Thank you!

via Google
[deleted user] Le'Naecha Roberts

Such an awesome company! We had major AC issues and they came on time and did not leave until they solved the issue. Really appreciate it!

via Google
סימה אריאנפנה

Highly recommended! I called in after a long research of companies. Simon was wonderful! We replaced our HVAC system with high efficiency system and received $2000 in rebates. They also installed the Nest thermostat which I love! Thank you …

read more
via Google
dani osadchy

What a great and professional company! I called Simon at Home Upgrade Specialist for an estimate for my heating and air systrm replacement. Simon was by far the most honest, professional and nicest person i interviewed.

I end up doing the …

read more
via Google
David Sharabi

I highly want to recommend professional air conditioning installation. I am very pleased with the services. Very friendly staff. Marvelous results. I can honestly say, I am satisfyingly enjoying. Many thanks to this awesome business!

via Google
Yossi Naparstek

just got my AC optimization the company did a great job, im very happy and highly recommend them to all my friends.

via Facebook
Adam Karst

trust worthy service...Nitai, the owner was super professional and up to date with whats going on today in the market... very happy with their attitude and work.

via Facebook
David Feldman

These are the most knowledgeable guys in the business- Was very pleased working with the Home Upgrade Specialist with top notch costumer service! Thanks again guys, will 100% be using you again soon!

via Facebook
James Kazualkazh Owens

I'm from Los Angeles, good business means good business!!

IF YOU NEED HOME UPGRADES LOOK NO FURTHER!!

via Facebook
Nellie Evrenson

I love this company for their professional service and quality.

via Facebook
Elina Lerman

Fabulous company ! Always ready to answer questions, Simon and the staff reply to messages promptly and show up on time, very professional team and courteous customer service and top notch product and installation at Outstanding prices. A…

read more
via Facebook
Anna Arenas

Dani & Simon had correctly diagnosed the cause and source of the leak in my condo. They're professional, honest and easy to work with. They easily gained my trust and respect. I'm now enjoying my brand new AC/heater, floors and walls – and …

read more
via Facebook
John Holloway

Today I received a maintenance service by 2 professional tech's of SolAir and Energy.

Mark&Wafre came over as needed once a year, they been in my house for about 2 hours, checked my furnace, A/C unit and they also checked my attic.

So …

read more
via Facebook
Oren Dagan

Simon and His Team did an amazing Install. I replaced my entire AC & Heating system with SolAir and the program they are participating in called energy upgrade CA.

They installed a very High Efficiency system. Now about 2 months after the …

read more
via Facebook
Call Now