Reviews

Review Us
 

  •   I found Home Upgrade Specialist through the DWP  AC Optimization Program, which offers a no-cost central air conditioner tune-up and a free NEST installation.  
    Julio came to my home and did a great job, providing me with a lot of information and advice.  Then Simon came over to see the work.  I will also have them do the other side of my duplex in a few days.  
    Very professional and honest.  I look forward to working with them in the future.  Will also tell all of my neighbors - who may not know about this.
    I had called another company on the DWP list, and they said they would have to charge me $80 for the Nest installation because mine was so old.  I knew something was wrong, and hung up.  
    So glad Simon was on the list to call.

    thumb Joan F.
    5/16/2018

      Very quick, very precise.  get there on time, didn't left any junk behind. Everything is working fine so great job thank you guys

    thumb Sergey R.
    5/10/2018

      We selected Home Upgrade Specialist for the LADWP sponsored AC optimization program. The technician was prompt, efficient, well-mannered, and knowledgeable. You could tell he enjoyed his work.

    The service was extremely rigorous and consisted of checking the complete functioning of our HVAC, including ductwork. We also received the latest generation Nest thermostat. The technician was incredibly polite and helpful. He answered my question about evaporative coolers with a high level of expertise. This helped steer me away from a potentially costly and ineffective retrofit. I also like the fact that this company offers the full spectrum of home energy solutions.

    I cannot overstate the value of this service to homeowners who want to save money on heating and cooling bills.

    thumb James P.
    5/10/2018

      We hired Home Upgrade Specialist to come by our gym to check out issues we were having with one of our HVAC units.  We had been told by another company that the issue was being caused by brand new Nests that we had installed, but knew that was not the real issue.  Julio and Julio came by to take a look and had our HVAC up and running properly in what seemed like minutes.  It turned out to be a wiring issue.  I highly recommend them.  The price was great as well!  When I made the appointment I spoke with Simon.  He was so kind and scheduled us right away.  He also offered to perform an AC optimization at no cost to us.  We will be using Home Upgrade Specialists for all our future needs.

    thumb Rebecca F.
    5/18/2018

      I highly want to recommend professional air conditioning installation. I am very pleased with the services. Very friendly staff. Marvelous results. I can honestly say, I am satisfyingly enjoying. Many thanks to this awesome business!

    thumb David S.
    4/22/2018

      I just moved to LA from Boston and was looking for some upgrade in my new apartment and the service was unbelievable - so good! Arrived on time, were efficient and the job was well done!
    Keep on the great work!

    thumb Oz R.
    7/09/2018
  •   Our second person sent out saved the day! I was originally going to write a one-star Yelp review with our initial experience with the two people that were sent out to take a look at our Nest and AC unit. Upon arrival they thought we were bozos as the AC happened to turn on (after being off for a few days) which is, of course, this would happen when were trying to fix it not blowing out cold air. But then it turned off a couple hours later - still, the first two people they sent out were not helpful at all. It wasn't until Greg who came in and took a look at EVERYTHING from up on the roof to inside the attic units. He gave us all of the information and answered our many questions and was all around so helpful! We give him 10 stars out of 5 because he was that awesome and knowledgeable, he explained everything to us and was so patient and ended up diagnosing our issue with a fair quote and all! He rocked! We hope he returns if we ever have an issue again.

    thumb Kitty G.
    7/25/2018

      We have a lovely, functional, updated bathroom now which is actually a relaxing sanctuary. Amazing, because the old bathroom was constantly leaking, depressing to spend time in, and the cost in plumbing repairs, alone, was awful.  
    Enter Home Upgrade Specialists, Simon was my contact, and now just a month later, I feel so much happier.  Lol, it's crazy how just a few subtle, well-thought out changes and upgrades can equate to such a tangible difference in how one views one's home.
    The price and timeline were exactly as I was quoted and the guys who did the work were pleasant and kept the mess to a minimum as they progressed.  (Something I was stressing over!)
    I am now going to have Simon redo my kitchen and get it on par with the upgraded bath!  Thank-you Simon:)

    thumb Tamela J.
    4/04/2018

      SIMON was very quick getting back to me regarding the DWP installation. Julio installed two Nest thermostats and was very knowledgeable and thorough. He cleaned the units and replaced the filters. He also showed me how to use the Nest. LA residents need to check out this great DWP program which is free.

    thumb Tony J.
    6/14/2018

      The guy called Art came over to diagnose my roof top A/C unit.  He did not give me the estimate before he changed the capacitor.  End up he charged me $250.  I paid because he has already replaced it.  Honestly, I think this is a bit overcharged because the cost of the capacitor is only ~$20.  I feel like got rip off.

    thumb Jenny W.
    8/15/2018

      Really fabulous company to work with. I got referred to the company though LADWP and am so happy I chose their number! Simon was friendly and knowledgeable on the phone, they were great to schedule with and the tech was fast and really knew what he was doing. I'm going to have them bid on another job in the house right away.

    thumb Tali M.
    6/08/2018

      I found Home Upgrade Specialist on the list provided by the LADWP AC Optimization program. A list??? Who knows where to start! But I did - checking reviews on Yelp. Home Upgrade Specialist had the best reviews - as well as a great location.

    I spoke with Simon to set up the appointment - easy. Plus, we were able to set it up for just a couple of days later. That morning, Julio called to let me know his arrival time. And he was great - friendly, knowledgeable, polite - just great. He shared all the info on what he was doing and why so that I knew exactly what was going on.

    Simon also came by as Julio was finishing and did a second inspection. He also was friendly, polite and knowledgeable.

    I definitely recommend these guys!

    thumb jax m.
    5/10/2018
  •   We did the A/C upgrade program through the LADWP and it was very easy to set up with HUS. They had availability within the next day of calling to set up the appointment. They gave me a 2 hour window of time for the technician to show up. The technician that came out was really nice and worked quickly to have everything done within a reasonable time. Instillation only took less than 2 hours. He showed me how to use the new Nest system which is really cool! Overall a simple and easy experience. I would recommend this company to anyone and use them in the future if I have needs for any of their services.

    thumb Jacky W.
    4/25/2018

      It's never pleasant when a big appliance goes bad and you know it needs to be replaced. So dealing with a company that understands this, sympathizes and "gets" where you're coming from helps alleviate the stress from it.  I have to say, aside from the stress and expense of getting a new A/C unit, this has been one of the more pleasant experiences I've had with such a big ticket item. I'm one who always thinks someone is out to get you. Will charge you too much and, let's face it, how many people know that much about air conditioning? But such is not the case with Home Upgrade Specialist. Honest, reasonable and they took great care to get the job done and in a timely manner. Seeing as my a/c was on the roof, they had to use a crane which was a spectacle in itself, but the time it took to install (6 hours) gave me new found respect for the intricacy of the workmanship and made me feel the money was well spent. Not an easy task.

    Simon, the owner, came over and made sure all was going properly while Wilson installed the unit. Simon is so down-to-earth. When he first came over to give me an estimate, I told him the heat was working but the a/c was not blowing cold air, and that I had had a few estimates already.  He asked to see the invoice and was prepared to come very close to the lowest one with a better A/C unit. Also, I found out from him and the second company that came to give me an estimate that the first company that came out unplugged everything so my heat wasn't working now! The fan would go on before but now nothing. Simon went up to try and rectify it so if I needed heat, I could have it till I decided what I wanted to do about the unit (and it was chilly at night then). However, whatever that first company did, they did not put it back to what it was and now nothing worked! Simon confirmed what the second company said.

    Also, I asked Simon about permits as the first company didn't say anything until I questioned it - and their retort was that it will be an additional 945 dollars but he would give me a discount. Simon emphatically stated, "no" that he only charges whatever the cost is from the city - yes it's extra but not $945 even if there was a discount! He thought it was around a hundred bucks! Big difference from 945!  Then to show me exactly what it would be so I would know, he sat down and took me on the city website where I promptly paid with my credit card to pull the permit - and it was only 143 dollars and some cents!  

    I can't thank Simon enough for making this less painful that it already was - no one wants to spend thousands and thousands of dollars for something like this but it's a necessary evil - we need heat and a/c in Los Angeles.  But if I have to spend it, I'm glad I chose Home Upgrade Specialists. Now I will call them first for all my renovation needs as they do everything! And they are one of the preferred vendors of the DWP which will help expedite any rebates for energy saving appliances, etc.

    Highly recommend them!

    thumb Rona E.
    4/30/2018

      Really needed to replace existing a/c system and contacted a couple different specialists to get their opinions.  Simon came out and seemed very low key and not at all someone to pressure you!  He proceeded to carefully examine (and listen!) the entire duct and intake system as well as the main unit on the roof.  At that point he made a couple of calls and then presented me with an estimate and time frame that was better than I hoped.  Done deal.
    His workers showed up within a week and we now have a much more efficient, money-saving system and a new NEST controller 🙂
    Yay!

    thumb Madison J.
    4/04/2018

      Simon is the man! I received estimates from four other companies to replace my A/C, and Simon was the best price by far. On top of that, he threw in a free Nest and covered the permits for $100 (most of the other places like to charge around $750-800 for those). I called Simon and he showed up the next day-- he was efficient, knowledgeable and just an all around nice guy. He had his team at my place in under a week, and they did a bang-up job. Not only will I be using Home Upgrade Specialist for all of my home projects in the future, but I've been referring them to everyone in my building! Give Simon a call. You'll be glad you did.

    thumb K. W.
    5/25/2018

      Great service. Highly recommended. Simon and Nitai came to my house and replaced my ac unit   They very nice and professional and the installation was quick and  smooth.   They delivered as promised. They installed a nest thermostat which I love.  Because of the superior service, I have decided to move forward with the energy efficient window replacements with them. Cudos. Five stars!

    thumb Julia C.
    6/04/2018

      Simon and his team at Home Upgrade Specialist are superb! They came out to do a professional install of a Nest system.  The technician was on time, efficient, explained the system well and overall just did a great job.  I'm looking forward to calling upon them the next time I have a home upgrade project.

    thumb Rob A.
    5/11/2018
  •   Simon was a pleasure to work with and his technicians were on time and very professional, the job was completed right away. My entire office is extremely happy with the level of professionalism and friendliness. Thanks to the job getting done we are not burning up anymore. We are so glad that we got our ACs maintenance and my thermostats replaced

    Thank YOU so much!!!
    UBX/ EZ Worldwide Express (Vernon)

    thumb Sandra B.
    6/07/2018

      A reputable company. My A/C was leaking gallons of water. I didn't know what to expect.  Greg came over, assessed the situation and fixed the problem.  Thanx bro!

    thumb Russs M.
    8/09/2018

      I set up an appointment over the phone with Simon for an A/C tune-up through the LA DWP A/C Optimization Program. Simon was very polite and helpful and told me exactly what they'd be doing when they serviced it. They contacted me the night before to confirm the day and time and Julio showed up right on time. He was pleasant, professional, very knowledgeable and did a great job with servicing our A/C and heater. He installed a new thermostat and did an excellent job. He was quick and left no mess.  I would definitely recommend this company for anyone looking for someone to service their A/C or heater.

    thumb Erin R.
    5/16/2018

      What a great and professional company! I called Simon at Home Upgrade Specialist for an estimate for my heating and air systrm replacement. Simon was by far the most honest, professional and nicest person i interviewed.
    I end up doing the replacement with them and everything was very smooth and up to the schedule Simon provided me. Also they installed a nest thermostat with no additional cost! After the great delivery Nitai came to inspect my system and also came to provide me with some information for my windows and exterior paint. I learn a lot about those products and decided to go ahead and upgrade both!
    We replaced 16 windows and 2 sliding door and they apply cool wall material on my exterior house. The house look gorgeous! Thank you Simon and Nitai! I highly recommend Home Upgrade Specialist to all of my friendsand family!

    thumb Dani O.
    6/12/2018

      Professional and honest company! Did my home remodeling with these guys and the results were really great. Paint job and HVAC upgrades together with great incentives from different programs and my house looks great and feels very comfortable.   Highly recommend!

    thumb Lee W.
    4/24/2018

      My AC unit wasn't working properly. I contacted this company through Yelp and had a response within 10 minutes and a phone call shortly thereafter. A technician was in the area so I was able to have same-day service. Art came to the house, quickly diagnosed the problem and was on his way within less than 30 minutes. He was extremely polite and courteous, even putting shoe covers on before entering the house. Recommend very highly!

    thumb Virginia L.
    8/17/2018

Review Us

Inquire Services
close slider